Jana - home page and about me

Jana Smith’s Children of Light books

A five book series of Christian, faith-based, speculative fiction books that take place seventy years after the rapture and subsequent post-apocalyptic war.

Follow Emma’s story as she searches for her purpose, and how her gifts fit God’s plan for her life. Can she overcome a lie she’s been told, and follow God’s plan? Who can she trust? 

Art and Heirloom Shoppe

As a new venture, I am selling some of my photography prints, cards and my books at the Art and Heirloom Shoppe in Chatham. Check it out. Besides my stuff, the shop is full of wonderful art made by local and South West Ontario artists. Please do check it out!

Link: Art and Heirloom Shoppe

Jana’s Newsletter (Jana Smith)

I have a short newsletter that comes out six times a year. In it, you will find updates whatever I am writing; insight into characters, and tidbits of information on end-times that I find interesting, and anything else that strikes my fancy.

So, if you are interested in receiving a newsletter three to four times a year, please sign up below.



Jana’s periodic newsletter sign up:  Click Here

Jana Smith

Book 5, Sorrow and Joy, the last book of the Children of Light Series, has now been released. It is available in both eBook and Paperback formats on Amazon, and on Kindle Unlimited.

Newsletter-blog; Children of Light series

Click any book icon to go to the book or series detail page

To see what others are saying about Children of Light books, click here.

Jana Smith’s The Children of Light series are Christian, faith-based, and speculative fiction books.

Children of Light Series

If we are very honest, at some point in our lives, we have imagined ourselves as being exceptional. We hope we are someone who has the strength to rise above and shine. But few of us truly are. In the end, most of us are rather ordinary. While this may be true, there is nothing wrong with that. Mostly, we live our lives to the best of our ability and serve God right where we are. Still, some of us dream of more, but those are only our secret dreams.

God’s gifts to his children

Every child of God has a gift. God gives us special gifts and abilities that are appropriate for the purpose God has created us for. Specifically, this is so we can accomplish that which He has called us to. Unfortunately, few of us comprehend the magnitude of our giftedness.

At any rate, the challenge resides in our ability to recognize our gifts. To see them as a blessing. Accept them, surrendering to the role the gifts dictate and finally to respond when called upon…all in God’s timing.

However, being extraordinary can be a burden

Although we may dream of being extraordinary, few of us are. Some special ones, unable to carry the burden, dream of being ordinary. Further, the very extra-ordinary ones may force themselves to be ordinary, therefore, rejecting their truth.

Emma is not special. She is extraordinary. Life’s circumstances forced her to reject her giftedness and bury the truth of its true value and purpose. Thus, life forced her to be ordinary.

Until it didn’t.

Follow Emma’s journey as she works to recognize that her gift of light is a gift and not a curse; to accept it, surrender to God’s will, and finally respond to God’s purpose for her life.